What I Spend in A Week in Orange County, CA

Sarah McMahon
4 min readApr 11, 2022

[Listen to an audio version of this blog here.]

Every few months, I spend a week tracking my spending to see how I might better spend or save my money. This time, I thought I’d share.

The following monthly expenses are predictable (not like gas or groceries, which may fluctuate quite a bit). My utilities are a flat fee every month. I share internet, which makes it relatively cheap. I often pay extra on my car each month, and my insurance has actually decreased in the past year. Rent has gone up, which feels a bit insulting given my meager square footage and century old plumbing. I divert money into my 401K, but I didn’t include that here as an expense since I never see the money. I also use Acorns to round-up my debit card charges-it’s an easy way to save without realizing you’re saving.

Rent: $1,615

Utilities: $45

Internet: $20

Car Payment: $208

Car/Rent Insurance: $104

Savings: $250

Investment Account: $150

Audible: $15

Gym/Trainer: $165

Netflix: $10

Spotify: $10

Total: $2,592

--

--